pasteramazing.blogg.se

Media player for flac files
Media player for flac files








media player for flac files
  1. #Media player for flac files 320kbps
  2. #Media player for flac files 320 kbps
  3. #Media player for flac files full
  4. #Media player for flac files portable

Maybe you can save a negligible 20 or 30 kbps–again, I haven’t tested. However, when you get into the 200+ kbps range, ogg and mp3 are probably going to be indistinguishable from each other. (I can’t vouch for this personally but will take their word for it.) Neither of them, however, will be at optimum sound quality. George-W, what people are saying here in geek-speak is that an ogg file around 128 kbps will sound better than an mp3 file at 128 kbps. wav file, but that wasn’t what was being discussed. Message Edited by fuze_owner-GB on 04-10-2009 07:16 won’t save space compared to mp3, which was clear from the context of the original reply. Every person has to do a bit of testing to see what file type and encoder values work best for them.

media player for flac files

#Media player for flac files full

If I want extreme quality, I opt for using high quality full sized audio gear.īut that’s me. I use them when I’m on the go or as a simple means of lulling myself to sleep. While I can appreciate the capability of getting perfect quality out of FLAC files, I don’t use my device for such a pupose.

#Media player for flac files portable

With that said, I use my DMP’s as portable music devices, and nothing more. Myself, I feel while they surpass the musicality of a similar encoded MP3, lack a bit of depth and detail of slightly higher encoded ogg vorbis files. I have several of my musician friends that encode their music at 128kbps (ogg vorbis) and are extremely happy with the results.

#Media player for flac files 320kbps

Now that I’ve switched to ogg vorbis, most of my files are in the 192kbps range and they sound as good or better as 320kbps MP3’s. A little experimentation is order, as everyone’s ears have different capabilities.īefore I switched to ogg vorbis, I encoded all my MP3’s at V0 (extreme) or at 320kbps. While ogg vorbis is still good at high bit-rates, it really shines at the lower end of the bit-rate scale where it easily surpases the sound quality of a comparible mp3. FLC files are 2 and 3 times larger then a similar MP3.

media player for flac files

FLAC is far and away the best, of course, but in that case size is an issue. Especially with a player that is expandable.Īnd to my untrained ear I cannot hear any difference between the highest OGG and the best MP3. If you sincerely care about good sound quality, the size of the files should mean nothing, IMO, of course. So I am in the process of re-ripping everything to 320 MP3. I used to rip music to best quality OGG but my wife can’t play OGG’s on her Verizon Phone that she uses for music. Personally I thing OGG and MP3 is pretty comparable. Mp3 has become the universal format–everything else is for the truly dedicated geek wrote: So if you intend to someday change brands of music player or share songs with friends, ogg may not be the most practical choice, even if in principle I love the idea of an open-source, hi-fi encoder. Ogg may (or may not–I haven’t tested it myself) sound slightly better than mp3 for the same number of kbps, though I doubt the very slight difference would be apparent to anyone without super hi-fi playback.

media player for flac files

#Media player for flac files 320 kbps

(The bitrate is how many bits of information are used per second of music–more means better sound.) In Windows Media Player (under Rip Music) you can raise the quality slider up to 192 or 256 or even 320 kbps and your mp3s will start to sound like music again.įLAC will be a more accurate copy, but a far bigger one. Your problem is that you are using mp3 at 128 kbps, a low-quality bitrate. wav (a copy of the CD files, not compressed) and Apple’s proprietary formats that iPods play.īut George-W, your problem is not that you are using mp3. But Winamp makes you pay for ripping, Windows Media Player does only mp3 and Windows Media formats, and iTunes only does mp3. Windows Media Player and iTunes (and I think Winamp) use CDDB, a commercial and slightly more reliable source for tags. Media Monkey and EAC are both good for that, though not for the very newest albums because they use the user-generated Freedb online database, and some volunteer somewhere has to do the tags. What you want in a ripper, however, is something that will also go online and get the tag information as it rips. Media Coder converts between many filetypes.










Media player for flac files